Chapter 10   2 comments

I have to say that I have never read a textbook so actively before.  Normally, I will peruse through the text, occasionally stopping to take notes on something that was particularly interesting.  However, this book is different which I boldly interpret as a sign that I am learning a lot (hopefully).  As I am browsing through the chapter writing this post, nearly all of the margins are filled with comments that I have made, either agreeing or contrasting with Seitel.

Employee Relations, it seems like such a simple topic to discuss.  After reading the chapter I have definitely changed my previously stated opinion.  I have always assumed that working in an office would be pretty much the same as going to class, only rather than learning facts and theories we would be filling out business reports.  I figured that the people that I am working with would be very similar to the friends that I have now.  I never gave thought to how diverse the working population would be.  Just as Seitel discusses in his chapter about the general public being made up of an incredibly diverse amount of factors, so is the work place.  That was some serious food for thought, and I am glad to have read it know rather than finding out the hard way later down the line.

Once again, I feel like honesty is an expected norm in all aspects of life, but Seitel devotes at least three pages to his section on the importance of credibility in upper management.  I think that the S-H-O-C method seems really effective.  Strategic, honest, open, and consistent.  They are all the foundations for a healthy working relationship between management and subordinate employees.  I think that it is important for managers to place a certain amount of trust in their employees so that they can succeed in any situation, that is why they were hired in the first place wasn’t it?  It is silly to think that lower level employees aren’t important to the success of an organization, because they are usually the ones that are doing the grunt work to ensure that managers and executives can do their jobs.  There is a reason why people so often refer to organizations and companies as a working family, because just as in a family, everybody that works in a specific company has a role to fulfill.

Posted June 11, 2011 by Big Man in Reading Notes

2 responses to “Chapter 10

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Brandon, Do you think that having to blog about the text or being interested in the material (or both) has created such an active reading of the text?

    • I think that it is a healthy combination of the both. Having to blog about the chapter means that you are reading closely, searching for certain aspects of the chapter that would inspire you to write something. Whereas being interested in the subject itself usually inspires more in depth thoughts. If something doesn’t interest me then I will normally glass over something, just doing whatever I need to do to finish. But when I am interested in something then I really challenge myself to turn out my best, most thoughtful work. Even when I don’t always agree with the author, which happens a fair amount, I am still interested by the fact that I don’t agree. I hope that answers your question!

Leave a Reply

